Skip to main content

Face to face services are closed starting March 17th, until further notice. See Seneca Libraries COVID-19 Updates for more information.

  Watch a short video on our virtual library services and supports.

Ask Us logoLIVE

Persistent URLs: Home

Persistent Links

General Information

Seneca Libraries offers access to a large library of online resources such as full-text online periodicals, e-books, and streamed videos. Although copying for class distribution is occasionally allowed (please check with the copyright staff at copyright@senecacollege.ca or x77527), sharing files through email is generally forbidden. However, sharing hyperlinks to files is permitted and encouraged. The manuals below will provide you with the necessary information to create persistent links.

Persistent links provide an advantage over the standard copy-and-paste web browser address bar links because they are stable or “persistent” over time. Web browser address links are often search-session-specific and become non-functional in a short period of time.

You can create direct links to a variety of online content such as:

  1. Full-text articles and citations from newspapers, magazines, journals or reference works
  2. Periodical titles (title level access to journals, magazines, newspapers)
  3. Full-text books
  4. Streamed videos in some of our video databases
  5. User-defined searches (a link that launches a pre-defined search which retrieves “fresh hits” each time it is clicked)
  6. Specific databases
  7. Library system records (direct links to holdings information for items held in Seneca Libraries)

Your starting point is Seneca Libraries at http://library.senecacollege.ca. From there, you can access a complete list of databases through “Databases”.

 

Instructions to Obtain Persistent Links

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you are working within Blackboard (MySeneca), you MUST use the "Add URL" function to embed a persistent link into your Course Page. If you just paste the link into the description of an item, the link may not work.

ACM Digital Library HRInsider Open Access Journals (DOIs)
AdForum IBISWorld Ovid
Britannica Online IEEE (ASPP and POP) Oxford Art Online
CRC ENGnetBASE (Taylor & Francis) JSTOR Oxford Reference
CultureGrams Kanopy ProQuest Databases
Curio.ca Lawyer's Daily Publication Titles (Journals, Magazines)
Databases (Persistent Links for Product Access) Lexis Advance Quicklaw QP Briefing
desLibris Library Search (Seneca Libraries) Safari Books Online
Ebook Central LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) Safetyhub
EBSCO Databases MarketLine Advantage SAGE Journals
Engineering Case Studies Online MarketResearch.com Academic: Packaged Facts ScienceDirect
Europa World McNabb Connolly Streaming Video Collection Skillsoft Books (formerly known as Books24x7)
Films on Demand Mintel Reports Statista
Frontier Life Nexis Uni (new LexisNexis platform, July 2019) Taylor & Francis Journals
Gale "InfoTrac" Databases NFB.ca Techstreet Enterprise
Gale "in Context" Databases OHSInsider Wiley Online Library Journals
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy