Temporary Access During the COVID-19 Closures: Home
Temporary Access During the COVID-19 Closures
Certain e-resource vendors are making some of their content temporarily available either for free or with improved access for the next little while, in response to the disruption caused on college campuses by the COVID-19 outbreak. Please note the limited-time availability of the following resources:
(EBSCO) Until June 19th, 2020, EBSCO and Harvard Business Press are providing complimentary access to the EBSCO eBooks Harvard Business Review Press Subscription Collection of over 600 HBP e-book titles, with unlimited simultaneous users access for each title. See here for more information.
Until May 25th, 2020, RedShelf and participating publishers are making some of their textbooks freely-available to Seneca students, faculty, and staff. Note that this is not through Seneca Libraries nor through the college's username-and-password authentication system. Rather, interested users must set up their own separate RedShelf account, using their Seneca College address. See this link for more information.
Until June 15th, 2020, JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) is offering free access to its collection of science videos: “JoVE creates the ultimate solutions for advancing research and science education by making and publishing videos of scientific experiments from the top laboratories around the globe.”
(Internet Archive) Until June 30th, 2020, "...Internet Archive will suspend waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in our lending library by creating a National Emergency Library..." See here for more information.
Until April 30th, 2020, VitalSource and participating publishers such as Taylor & Francis and Nelson are making some of their textbooks freely-available to Seneca students, faculty, and staff. Note, that this is not through Seneca Libraries nor through the college's username-and-password system. Rather, interested users must set up their own separate VitalSource account, using their Seneca College address. See this link for more information.
(ITHAKA) Provides access to a multidisciplinary collection of over 1000 journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Until June 30, 2020, JSTOR is providing free access to collections we do not currently license, including journals, books, and an archive in Public Health. See this link for more information.
(IEEE) Provides access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). The All-Society Periodicals Package (ASPP) offers full-text from over 180 IEEE magazines, journals, and newsletters since 1998, and the Proceedings Order Plan (POP) offers full-text of 145 IEEE conference proceedings since 2005. Until May 30th, 2020, IEEE is providing its college and university customers with complimentary access to its IEEE eLearning Library of online courses in engineering and technology. You may access them at this link or by going into our main access above and clicking "Browse" followed by "Courses".
(ProQuest) Thousands of downloadable e-book titles covering all academic disciplines. Until June 19th, 2020, ProQuest and certain participating publishers are giving customers Unlimited simultaneous user access to certain e-book titles.
(EBSCO) Provides access to a large collection of e-audiobooks and e-books, in art, business, computer science, education, history, literature, health and medicine, law, and the humanities and social sciences. Until June 30th, 2020, EBSCO and certain participating publishers are giving customers Unlimited simultaneous user access to certain e-book titles.
(Johns Hopkins University) Some American university presses have chosen to temporarily make content freely available on Project MUSE, some until the end of May and others until the end of June 2020. See here for a list of participating publishers. To search, click the link above and keep the "Only content I have access to" button clicked while in the platform.
(Conference Board of Canada) Reports and recorded webinars dealing with economic trends, organizational performance, and public policy from the Conference Board of Canada, a not-for-profit applied research organization. Free Conference Board information about COVID-19 and its impact in Canada and on its economy may be found here. You must first register for the site. Go to the link above, click "Create an account", and use your Seneca e-mail address to create the account. On subsequent visits you will go to that same link above but click "Sign In" to sign in with that personal account information you previously created.
(Audio Cine Films) A collection of over 500 popular feature films. We have trial access only to this product until April 17th, 2020. Vendor recommendation: "Our system works best with Google Chrome. You may use other browsers, but they will require 3rd party plug-ins."