Skip to main content

Information for Faculty: Video Resources

Videos

Sandbox
How we can help
  • Assist you with finding or obtaining videos for your course.
  • Provide you with instructions on how to include a streaming video into your Blackboard course.
  • Convert a DVD / video that you are using for you course into streaming format.
  • Advise you on audio-visual copyright questions.

Contact Us

Questions about videos? Get in touch with us:

Toolbox

toolbox icon

Use these tools and resources to get started with videos for your courses

wrench icon Find a video using library search
Quick instructions on how to find a video in our collection.

wrench icon See the full list of streaming video databases
This is a list of all the streaming video, image and music resources that Seneca Libraries offers.

wrench icon Copyright for videos, TV and YouTube 
Scroll to Videos and TV and YouTube videos to see a quick overview of what you may and may not use in your class.

wrench icon More resources for your courses

Learn About our Video Collections

graphic showing streaming video numbers

We have a large variety of streaming videos for use in your courses that you can view on or off college premises (Seneca login required). Use the links in the Toolbox box on this page to start your search or use the following search box:


Please note that Lynda.com is not included in our search but available from the list of databases. Seneca's MyLearning site provides more information about lynda.com playlists for different schools.


Some of our popular streaming collections include:

There are two types of DVDs in our collection:

 General Collection: If the DVD is part of our Circulating collection you can request it through the Request button. Circulating DVDs have a 14 day loan period and can be screened/viewed outside the College’s premises.

 Media Collection: DVDs that are in high demand and essential for class presentation are only available for screening on the College’s premises. These DVD must be returned to library after class and can only be booked via email request.

For more information on how to book a DVD for the classroom read the FAQ: How can I book a DVD or video to show in class?

[Closed Captioning shown by default]

Seneca Libraries has a created many educational videos (hosted on our YouTube channel) that you can use in your courses.

Visit our Tutorials webpage and look under the "Instructional Videos"  

Screenshot of Tutorials index

Loading ...

Add a streaming video to your BlackBoard course

Should you link or embed the link to a streaming video that you found?

Embedding a video directly into your course is a visually attractive way to offer your students an overview of the course material. However, not all streaming services offer the functionality, and in some cases the embed code may not work within MySeneca (BlackBoard). 

Linking to a video is preferable if you want to keep your list of videos short or maintain a consistent way of access to the videos if your list contains titles that cannot be embedded.

Always test your streaming video code prior to use.

Link to a Streaming Video in Your MySeneca Course
Important! 

Copy & paste the following instructions alongside any links to videos from Seneca Libraries:
"You will be prompted to login using your Seneca email username and password. If you cannot view [video title] right away, you may be experiencing a slow network or a maximum number of viewers has been reached. In these cases, close your browser window and try again in a couple of minutes."

Acquiring a Permalink

To obtain streaming video links that work, always use the links explicitly provided by the streaming service. Do not copy the URL from the browser's URL field. To ensure that the link works within MySeneca, always set the link to open in a new window.


YouTube 

Click on the "Share" button located underneath the video screen. Expand the "Options" link to customize the quality of the video or specify different start point.


Streaming Videos from the Library

If you find a streaming video from our library search, click on the "..." icon and use the "Permalink" from the to copy the persistent link.screenshot of creating a persistent link to a video

 
Next Steps

Once you have the link of the video, follow the instructions on MySeneca's Help on how to add external links to add the streaming video link into your course. Make sure to set the link to "open in a new window."

Instructions for creating more direct persistent links to specific streaming video resources (Curio, Films on Demand, Kanopy, NFB etc.) offered by Seneca Libraries can be found at http://library.senecacollege.ca/Find_Articles/Purls.

Embed a Streaming Video in Your MySeneca Course
Important! 

Copy & paste the following instructions alongside any links to videos from Seneca Libraries:
"You will be prompted to login using your Seneca email username and password. If you cannot view [video title] right away, you may be experiencing a slow network or a maximum number of viewers has been reached. In these cases, close your browser window and try again in a couple of minutes."

YouTube

YouTube provides BlackBoard Building Blocks that make it easy to embed their streaming videos into the course:

  1. Select Build Content > Mashups: YouTube Video.
  2. You can search for a YouTube video within MySeneca.
  3. Select a video, and the video will be automatically embedded into your content area.
Streaming Videos from the Library (e.g., Films on Demand, Curio, Kanopy)

Many streaming platforms provide embed codes that work in MySeneca. In general, these are the steps to follow for embedding a video from the library:

  1. Go to the streaming video page of the title that you want to embed.
  2. Look for an "embed" link or section on the page. Sometimes, the embed functionality may be shown within the sharing functionality.
  3. Copy the embed code. Make sure you are highlighting the full code when you copy it.
  4. Open another browser window with MySeneca and log into your course.
  5. Select Build Content > Create Item.
  6. On the text editor, click on the down arrow button to see all editing options. Click on the HTML button, then paste the embed code that you copied into the HTML code view window.
  7. Important: Do this before you save / submit the item!* Within the embed code that you have pasted into MySeneca, locate the video URL (starts with http://) and add the following prefix: (see the screenshot for details) http://libaccess.senecacollege.ca/login?url=

screenshot of the BlackBoard text editor showing the image and HTML buttons for adding an embedded code.


*if you save the embed code before you add the prefix, you will have to add it twice to the embed code - Blackboard creates a second version of the embed code once you save it, and if the prefix only appears in the second version, the embedding will not work.

Tips:
  • If you decide to embed a video, make sure that you do not have the video start to play automatically when the page opens.
  • To make the video accessible make sure that it provides closed captioning or add a link to the video transcript underneath the video.
Loading ...

Got a question about our media offerings?

Citations

Videos icon made by Creative Stall from www.thenounproject.com