Skip to main content

Information for Faculty: Course Materials

Course Materials

How we can help
  • Highlight the Library Search tool and databases to search for resources.
  • Provide instruction for adding our resources to your courses.
  • Add library tutorials and cartridges to use in your courses.
  • Suggest new materials to build our library collections

Contact Us

Do you want to meet with your Liaison Librarian or ask any questions? Get in touch with us:

Toolbox

Resources and tools to support your teaching practice:

 

Library Cartridges
Cartridges may include quizzes, research tutorials, subject guides and other resources.

Library Tutorials
Tutorials may include interactive tutorials, video tutorials on research and other topics.

Video Resources for Your Courses

Subject Guides
Guides provide links to all types of free and paid resources.

Assignment Calculator
Electronic tool for your students to use to organize their assignments and steps with timelines.

Information Literacy For Faculty
Threshold concepts with examples to address information literacy.

Resources to Support Hydbrid & Online Course Development

 

Help Us Build Relevant Collections

We welcome your suggestions!

Is there a book, magazine, journal, database or video you think the library should have?

Help us build relevant collections for your students.

Fill out the materials suggestion form or Contact Your Liibrarian.

 

 

 

Open Educational Resources

  Access our databases  Find a subject guide  import library cartridges  suggest new materials

Library Search

Library Search is search engine which allows you to search most of the libraries' resources. Use your keywords to search for books, case studies, articles from magazines, journals and newspapers. You can narrow your search by date, publication name and more. You can also set up notifications if new resources become available.

Click on the image above to go to Library Search.

Add Library Search to Blackboard
  1. Open a new browser window/tab, and navigate to MySeneca
  2. Log in and open your course
  3. Add a content area to your course menu:
    • Click on (at the top left of course menu) and select Content Area
    • Give your new menu item a name  (Example: Library Search)
  4. Check the box “Available to Users”
  5. Click to open the new menu item called Library Search
  6. Under “Build Content”,  click “Web Link”
  7. Fill in the Web Link Information:  
    • Type in the Name: Library Search
    •  Paste the url: http://library.senecacollege.ca
  8. Click “Submit”
Loading ...

Library Databases

 

The library subscribes to over 185 databases. These databases have resources such as books, case studies, articles from magazines, newspapers and journals and more. Searching these databases allows you to use special search features and advanced search techniques. You can search by selecting a database by subject or go directly to the database!

Click on the image above to go the database page.

Here is the list of databases which are not available through Library Search. 

Adding a Specific Database to a Course
  1. Go to: https://seneca.libguides.com/az.php
  2. Choose your Subject to find a database or go directly to a database through the alphabetical list (Example: Academic Search Premier)
  3. Copy the URL by right-clicking the database link. Select “Copy Link Location”
  4. Open a new browser window/tab, and navigate to MySeneca
  5. Log in and open your course
  6. Add a content area to your course menu:
    • Click on (at the top left of course menu) and select Content Area
    • Give your new menu item a name (Example: Database - Academic Search)
    • Check the box “Available to Users”
    • Click on the new menu item to open it
    • Under “Build Content”,  click “Web Link”
  7. Fill in the Web Link Information:
    • Type in the name of the database
    • Paste the database url (Example: http://library.senecacollege.ca/res/ebsco_asp.html)
  8. Click “Submit”
Adding a Resource from a Specific Database to a Course
  1. Go to: https://seneca.libguides.com/az.php
  2. Choose Subject to find a database or go directly to a database through the alphabetical list (Example: Find the following database: Academic Search Premier)
  3. Type each keyword in a separate box: nurses bullying education  Click Search.
  4. On the left side select: Retrieve Full-Text Articles Only
  5. Example: Scroll down and find the article:
    • Preparing New Nurses to Address Bullying: The Effect of an Online Educational Module in Learner Self-Efficacy
  6. Click on the Article Title
  7.  On the right hand side click on the Permalink icon
    •  You will find the Permalink above the article
  8. Highlight and copy the Permalink
  9. Open a new browser window/tab, and navigate to MySeneca
  10. Log in and open one of your courses
  11. Add a content area to or course menu:
    • Click on (at the top left of course menu) and select Content Area
    • Give your new menu item a name (Example: Articles)
    • Check the box “Available to Users”
    • Click on the new menu item Articles to open it
    • Under “Build Content”, click “Web Link”
  12. Fill in the Web Link Information: 
    • Type in the Title of the Article: Preparing New Nurses to Address Bullying
    • Paste the Permalink
  13.  Click “Submit”

For other database resources consult the page for instructions on adding resources from the databases.

Loading ...

Stay Current

Loading ...

Citations

Course Materials icon made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com