Skip to main content

Are you new to Learning Online? We have guides, tools and variety of supports to help get you started here: Learning Online.
We continue to provide our service virtually while the campus libraries remain closed.

Ask Us logoLIVE

Seneca Archives and Special Collections

Identifying, preserving, and making available for use Seneca's documentary heritage and special collections.

Following the guidance of public health and government authorities on the evolving COVID-19 situation, Seneca Archives and Special Collections in-person services will be closed until further notice.

 

The Archivist will continue to be available virtually through: 


•   our website seneca.libguides.com/archives
•   telephone at 416-491-5050 x 77242
•   email at sean.hayes@senecacollege.ca 

All digital collections remain available online below. New content is being added regularly. 

About Us

Seneca Archives and Special Collections identifies, preserves, and makes available for use Seneca's documentary heritage and special collections.

We collect inactive records of long-term value produced by the departments and offices of Seneca, as well as private donations of records of individuals and organizations closely associated with Seneca. 

Our resources are open to all members of the Seneca community and external users for research, teaching, publication, and general interest.

Quick Facts

What do we have?

  • 150,000+ physical photographs, text, and other archival records.
  • 6000+ digitized photographs and artwork available online 24/7.
  • Numerous Seneca student and staff print publications.
  • Yearbooks, course calendars, and other Seneca print releases.
  • Textiles, including flags, athletics uniforms, and memorabilia. 
  • Collections at our Markham, Newnham and York campuses.

Research Policies and Regulations

How Do I Transfer or Donate my Records?

The Archives welcomes departmental transfers of inactive records, and donations of private records from faculty, staff, and alumni. For more information on transfers and donations, contact the archivist using the email link provided to the right of the page. 

News

March 24, 2020 -- Seneca Archives and Special Collections' in-person research services are temporarily closed to researchers due to COVID-19. Virtual services remain open through our website, email, and telephone. For more information contact the Archivist.

December 10, 2019 -- A listing for the Dr. Ursula Martius Franklin Chinese Art and Civilization Collection is now available.

June 6, 2019 -- A periodical listing for The President's Bulletin, including content tags, is now available as a PDF in the Periodicals area.

May 27, 2019 -- A new finding aid is now available for the Department of Athletics and Recreation fonds!

April 4, 2018 -- Check out these audio recording of Bruce Springsteen performing at Seneca's Newnham Campus in December, 1975!

Also the Grateful Dead performing at Seneca's Newnham Campus on November 2, 1977!

October 4, 2017 -- Please join Seneca Archives at the official launch party for Seneca's official anniversary publication Seneca 50: Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow, which will be held in the Newnham Campus Library, October 4, starting at 5:30 p.m.

 

Available Periodicals

Seneca Archives and Special Collections' holdings include many past and present Seneca student and staff produced periodicals, including:

Impact

The Oblique Times

The Payday Post

The President's Bulletin

The Seneca

The Senecan

Seneca Update

The Buzz

Note: Not all publications have been fully described. Please contact the Archivist if you are interested in viewing publications. 

Archives @ Seneca Blog

Search Our Holdings (Seneca Archives)

Access to Memory

Explore Seneca's rich history by browsing thousands of described photos, text, and other archival records on Access to Memory (AtoM).

Special Collections - The American Illustration Collection

The American Illustration Collection 

A historical illustration resource featuring over 3000 works, brought to you by Seneca Libraries and the Faculty of Communication, Art and Design.

                    

Special Collections - The Dr. Ursula Martius Franklin Chinese Art and Civilization Collection

The Dr. Ursula Martius Franklin

Chinese Art and Civilization Collection

A collection of Dr. Franklin's personal books and manuscripts on China, donated to Seneca, and brought to you by Seneca Libraries and the Confucius Institute

Special Exhibition - Images from the Archives

Finding Aids

Addtional Resources

Visit Us

and Special Collections

Seneca Libraries, Markham, M216 (2nd Floor)
Seneca College of Applied Arts & Technology
8 The Seneca Way, Markham, Ontario L3R 5Y1

Parking is available at Markham Campus in the parking lot.

For more information on parking, see Parking at Seneca.

Hours

Tues. - Thurs., 9:00am – 5:00pm

Due to our small size and limited resources, researchers are strongly encouraged to contact the Archives in advance of their visit to allow us adequate time to prepare for your requests and suggest resources.

Contact the Archivist

Sean Hayes's picture
Sean Hayes
Contact:
8 The Seneca Way | Markham, ON | L3R 5Y1
416.491.5050 ext. 77242
Website

Featured Video: This is Seneca College (1968)

A short promotional film showcasing Seneca's first year of operation at Sheppard Campus, 43 Sheppard Avenue East, as well as the planning and construction of Newnham Campus (then known as Finch Campus).

Seneca 50: Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow