Quick Reference Tools
The resources listed here provide a general overview of Literature from sources such as dictionaries and encyclopedias. They only include brief information, but may be a good starting point for your research.
- Alpha Dictionary.comIncludes a variety of literary glossaries and dictionaries.
- The Cambridge History of English and American LiteratureIncludes essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing.
- Online Etymology DictionaryProvides the history and evolution of more than 30000 words, including slang and technical terms.
- Oxford Reference Online - LiteratureIncludes guides, dictionaries and companions to various types of literature.
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms (netLibrary)
Your Feedback
Getting Started
The scope of this guide covers resources for general literature research.
Source recommendations have been grouped to provide the following types of information from which you may select.
- Databases
- Magazines, Journals & Newspapers (full-text)
- Internet Sites
- Quick Reference Tools
- Writing About Literature
Where to start:
- Click on one of the tabs above to see a complete list of each of these resources.
- To learn how to research a topic, see: Starting My Research.
English Literature in Encyclopedia Britannica
eAudiobooks
- OverDriveOverDrive offers eAudiobooks, similar to "talking books" or "books on tape" but in electronic file format. Users download the files to their home computers and then, for listening on-the-go, transfer the files to selected mobile electronic devices or, in some cases, burn them to a CD.
Contact me |
Links: Profile & Guides |






Loading content... please wait
